The 17th Annual imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival

Presenting Sponsor: Bell Media

Announces Festival Award Winners

October 24, 2016 - On Saturday, October 22, 2016 at imagineNATIVE’s Awards Show at the TIFF Bell Lightbox, the esteemed Sun Jury and Moon Jury considered film, video, audio, and new media works from Canadian and international Indigenous artists to select winners in 16 categories with over $62,000 in cash prizes and in-kind services.

The 2016 imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival Award Winners are:
Best Short Drama
Special Mention -- The Promise of Piha Directed by Hanelle Harris
UFO Directed by Gregory King
$1000 cash award presented by imagineNATIVE's Board of Directors
Best Documentary Pitch
Jamaine Campbell for Bring it Back Home
Presented by APTN and supported by BravoFACT, William F White, Technicolor, National Film Board, Toronto International Film Board, and WIFT Toronto.
Best Drama Pitch
Sonya Ballantyne for Eagle Girl
Presented by APTN and supported by BravoFACT, William F White, Technicolor, National Film Board, Hot Docs, Documentary Organization of Canada, DOC Institute and WIFT Toronto.
NFB/imagineNATIVE Interactive Partnership
Red Card Project by Cara Mumford
$50,000 development support presented by the National Film Board of Canada
Best Music Video
Special Mention -- How to Steal a Canoe Directed by Amanda Strong and featuring the music of Leanne Simpson and Cris Derkson
We Are Still Here Directed by and the featuring the music of Sofia Jannok
$500 cash prize presented by imagineNATIVE
Kent Monkman Best Experimental Prize
Special Mention -- Susto Directed by Pearl Salas
Dolastallat Directed by Marja Helander
$500 cash award presented by imagineNATIVE
Best Short Documentary
Cree Code Talker Directed by Alexandra Lazarowich
$1000 cash award presented by CBC Docs
Best Audio Work
The Story She Carries Created by Angela Sterritt
$1000 cash award presented by CBC Radio
Best Digital Media Work
Tracey Rector for her immersive VR experience Ch’aak’ S’aagi (Eagle Bone)
$500 cash award presented by imagineNATIVE
Cynthia Lickers-Sage Award for Best Canadian Short Drama
God’s Acre Directed by Kelton Stepanowich
$1000 cash award presented VTape
Best Indigenous Language Production
Maliglutit (Searchers) Directed by Zacharias Kunuk Co-Directed by Natar Ungalaaq
$1000 cash award presented by Indigenous Media Initiatives
The Ellen Monague Award for the Best Youth Work
Special Mention -- Exposed Nerves Directed by Madison Thomas
Smoke That Travels Directed by Kayla Briët
$1000 cash award presented by RBC Royal Bank
The Jane Glassco Award for Emerging Talent
Ohero:kon – Under the Husk Directed by Katsitsionni Fox
$2000 cash award presented by CJ Foundtaion
The Alanis Obomsawin Best Documentary Award
Angry Inuk Directed by Alethea Arnaquq-Baril
$2000 cash award presented by TVO
Best Dramatic Feature
Special Mention -- Spear Directed by Stephen Page
Bonfire Directed by Dmitri Davydov
$2000 cash award presented by Bell Media
The August Schellenberg Award of Excellence
Tom Jackson
The Audience Choice Award, presented by Air Canada, will be announced later this week.

imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival 2016 Sponsors:

List represents commitments as of October 3, 2016
Presenting Sponsor: Bell Media
Gold Sponsors: RBC • CBC • Aboriginal Peoples Television Network
Silver Sponsors: Slaight Music • TD Bank • Air Canada • Canada Media Fund • Harold Greenberg Fund
Bronze Sponsors: Super Channel • DGC Ontario • Canadian Media Producers Association • Indigenous Visual Culture Program - OCADU • NSI National Screen Institute • TVO • Indigenous Media Initiatives
Public Funders: Canadian Heritage • Canada Council for the Arts • Ontario Arts Council • Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport • Toronto Arts Council • Miziwe Biik Aboriginal Employment & Training • Telefilm Canada • Ontario Media Development Corporation
Foundations: Inspirit Foundation • RBC Foundation • The CJ Foundation • The Gordon Family Foundation • Ontario Trillium Foundation • R&M Lang Foundation
Community Partners: Humber College • OFNTSC • Resolution Pictures/Minority Media • Mohawk College • Technicolor • ACTRA National • ACTRA Performers’ Rights Society • Inuit Art Foundation • Vtape • ACTRA Toronto • Wilfred Laurier University • CMFDC • Beehive Design • National Film Board of Canada • Sourcing Central • A Space Gallery • Gallery 44 • Pleasure Dome • TSV Trinity Square Video • YYZ Artists Outlet • 401 Richmond/Urban Space • Paperny Entertainment • T.E. Wealth Management
Mentorship Partners: Calgary Society of Independent Filmmakers • Charles Street Video • Liaison of Independent Filmmakers of Toronto • New Brunswick Film Cooperative • William F. White • Kodak • Niagara Custom Lab
Festival Hotel: Hilton Garden Inn
Hospitality Partners: Jugo Juice • MAKE UP FOR EVER • Northern Expressions • Orchid • Pita Pit • Ravi Soups • Steam Whistle Brewing • The Strathcona Hotel • Tea-N-Bannock
Media Partners: Nation News • Muskrat Magazine • POV Magazine • Revolution Per Minut • The Scope at Ryerson