2018 Festival Winners

Screenshot 2018-10-22 12.47.16.png

The 2018 imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival Award Winners are:


Best Dramatic Feature
Toyon Kyyl (The Lord Eagle) by Eduard Novikov
$2000 cash award sponsored by Bellmedia

Best Indigenous Language Production
Wiñaypacha (Eternity) by Oscar Catacora
$1000 cash award sponsored by Indigenous Media Initiatives

The Kent Monkman Award for Best Experimental Work
Eatnanvuloš Lottit (Birds in the Earth) by Marja Helander
$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE


Best Audio Work
Trans Mountain Pipeline, B.C. Wolf Cull and Dog Sled Massacre by Crystal Favel
$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE


Best Digital Media Work
Aeasi by Amie Batalibasi
$500 cash award sponsored by Unifor


Best Interactive Work
Biidaaban: First Light by Lisa Jackson
$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE


The Jane Glassco Award for Emerging Talent
ANORI (Wind) by Pipaluk Kreutzmann Jorgensen
$2000 cash award sponsored by The CJ Foundation


The Ellen Monaque Award for Best Youth Work
A World of Our Own by Morningstar Derosier
$500 cash award sponsored by RBC & Humber College Aboriginal Resource Centre


The Cynthia Lickers-Sage Award for Best Short Work
Biidaaban (The Dawn Comes) by Amanda Strong
$1000 cash award sponsored by VTape


Best Documentary Work Short Format
FAST HORSE by Alexandra Lazarowich
$1000 cash award sponsored by TVO


The Alanis Obomsawin Award for Best Documentary Work Long Format
Marks of Mana by Lisa Taouma
$2000 cash award sponsored by CBC Docs


The August Schellenberg Award of Excellence
Michael Greyeyes
$1500 cash award sponsored in part by ACTRA National, and generous individual donations.


Sun Jury Prize
Sgaawaay K'uuna (Edge of the Knife) by Gwaai Edenshaw and Helen Haig-Brown


Moon Jury Prize
My Friend Michael Jones by Ian Leaupepe, Samson Rambo


APTN/imagineNATIVE Web Series Pitch
Ryan Cooper and Adeline Bird 
$30,000 in cash and $20,000 of in-kind prizing and mentorship presented by APTN and supported by Technicolor, Innovate by Day, William F White International, TIFF, WIFT-T, T.O. Webfest and new supporters Bedtracks and Bizable Media

NFB/imagineNATIVE Digital and Interactive Prize
Gail Maurice

The Rising Director Mentorship Award
Alexandra Lazarowich
Created in partnership with Laura J. Milliken of Big Soul Productions and with the support of the CMPA

The Rising Producer Mentorship Award
Darcy Waite
Created with the support of the DGC

Bullseye Music Prize
$10,000 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE and Slaight Music

Air Canada Audience Choice Award
Falls Around Her by Darlene Naponse
$1,000 cash prize presented by Air Canada