Awards Gala

Presented by CBC


Saturday 22 October | 8:00pm
TIFF Bell Lightbox, Cinema 2

Join Awards Gala co-hosts Craig Lauzon (Ojibway) and Rosanna Deerchild (Cree) as we announce the Juries’ picks for this year’s prizes!

Featuring performances by Jeremy Dutcher (Wolastoq) and Tom Jackson (Cree), our 17th Annual Awards Gala is an evening for celebration in recognition of Indigenous achievement in the media arts.

After the Awards Gala, we will keep the celebration going at The Horseshoe Tavern with The Beat, our annual Saturday Night Music Event.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!



Rosanna Deerchild is the host of Unreserved on CBC Radio One. She is an award-winning Cree author and has been a broadcaster for almost 20 years – including stints with APTN, CBC Radio, Global and a variety of Indigenous newspapers. She hails from O-Pipon-Na-Piwan Cree Nation, Manitoba.

Craig Lauzon Headshot-.JPG


Craig Lauzon is an actor that has been nominated for a Dora Award, a Sterling Award, two Geminis, three Canadian Comedy Awards and the Tim Sims Encouragement Award. An accomplished writer, he has written for both theatre and television, and was chosen last year for the inaugural Script Development Lab at imagineNATIVE for his screenplay At the End of the Day. English/French and Anishnabeg, this proud Ojibway was never prouder than playing Kent in the National Arts Centre’s all First Nations production of King Lear, starring the late August Schellenberg as Lear.

Drama Pitch Prize
Presented by Aboriginal People’s Television Network (APTN)


Supported by: Bravo Fact, William F. White, Technicolor, National Film Board, Toronto, Toronto International Film and WIFT Toronto.

Documentary Pitch Prize
Presented by Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN)


Supported by Bravo Fact, William F. White, Technicolor, National Film Board, Hot Docs, Documentary Organization of Canada, Documentary Organization of Canada Institute, WIFT Toronto.

Best Music Video
Presented by imagineNATIVE


$500 Cash award

Kent Monkman Award For Best Experimental
Presented by imagineNATIVE


$500 cash award

Cynthia Lickers-Sage Award for Best Canadian Short Drama
Presented by VTape


$1,000 cash award

Best Short Drama
Presented by imagineNATIVE’s Board of Directors


$1,000 cash award

Best Short Documentary
Presented by CBC Docs


$1,000 cash award

Best Audio Work
Presented by CBC Radio


$1,000 cash award

Best New Media
Presented by imagineNATIVE


$500 cash award

The Jane Glassco Award for Emerging Talent
Presented by CJ Foundation

CJ logo.jpg

$1,000 cash award

Best Indigenous Language Production
Presented by Indigenous Media Initiatives


$1,000 cash award

The Ellen Monague Award for Best Youth Work
resented by RBC Royal Bank

Screen Shot 2016-09-06 at 4.13.44 PM.png

$1,000 cash award

Best Dramatic Feature
Presented by Bell Media


$2,000 cash award

The Alanis Obomsawin Best Documentary Award
Presented by TVO

Screen Shot 2016-09-06 at 4.33.37 PM.png

$2,000 cash award

The Audience Choice Award
Presented by Air Canada


$1,000 cash award

NFB/imagineNATIVE Interactive Partnership Recipient
Presented by the National Film Board of Canada


$50,000 development support

The August Schellenberg Award of Excellence


Presented in part by ACTRA National, ACTRA Performers’ Rights Society and generous individual donations. Special thanks to Joan Karasevich and family. $1,500 cash award