Competition Juries 2018

This year's Juries will announce their selections at the Awards Presentation on Sunday, 22 October at 4.30pm. For a listing of prizes to be awarded this year, please click here. imagineNATIVE's Jurors are volunteers and we thank them for their time, expertise and care in contributing to this year's Awards.

Sun Jury

Best Dramatic Feature, The Jane Glassco Award for Emerging Talent, The Cynthia Lickers-Sage Award for Best Short Work, The Ellen Monague Award for Best Youth Work, Best Audio Work

Juhani Alanen

Juhani Alanen is the Executive Director of Tampere Film Festival, one of the highest profile festivals in Europe. He studied at the University of Tampere and graduated with an M.Sc. in marketing. He has worked at the Tampere Film Festival (TFF) for more than 30 years and has been a member of its selection committee for 20 years. He is a curator for short film programs at TFF and a curator of Finnish short films for various film festivals around the world. Currently he is also developing a freshly founded short film agency whose aim is to distribute Finnish short films.

Anusha Duray

Anusha Duray is the acquisitions manager for National Indigenous Television Australia (NITV). She is also an award-winning producer for her short film Bourke Boy, which had its international premiere at imagineNATIVE in 2009. She has worked on various feature films and television series with over a decade’s experience working in Indigenous community and business development. She has been a board member of the Aboriginal Women's Consultation Network since 2010. Anusha was born and raised within the Bundjalung Nation.

Jessica Lea Fleming

Jessica Lea Fleming is of Métis (Wendat, Anishinaabe and French) and Scottish descent from Penetanguishene, Ontario. She is a writer, producer and programmer based in Hamilton. Jessica currently works as the operations manager for the Hamilton Conservatory for the Arts and as a community liaison for the Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance. She is co-founder of the Sweetgrass Sisters Collective, which aims to connect and strengthen the local Indigenous community through traditional and contemporary programming. Jessica recently completed post-production on her first short film, scales.

Moon Jury

The Alanis Obomsawin Award for Best Documentary Work (Long-Form), Best Documentary Short, The Kent Monkman Award for Best Experimental Work, Best Digital Media Work, Best Indigenous Language Production

Rhéanne Chartrand

Rhéanne Chartrand is a Métis curator and creative producer based in Toronto. She has spent the past six years creating interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary exhibitions, showcases and festivals for organizations such as Harbourfront Centre, OCAD University, the Art Gallery of Mississauga, the Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance, the Aboriginal Pavilion at the Toronto 2015 Pan Am Games, Kaha:wi Dance Theatre and the National Museum of the American Indian (Washington, DC). Currently, Rhéanne serves as the curator of Indigenous art at McMaster Museum of Art located in Hamilton.

Sinara Rozo-Perdomo

Sinara Rozo-Perdomo is a Toronto-based arts administrator, curator and educator. She is the director of the annual aluCine Latin Film+Media Arts Festival, Canada's longest-running and largest showcase dedicated to contemporary Latin cinema and media arts. Her curatorial work has been featured at several festivals in Mexico, Peru, Hungary, USA, Colombia, Brazil, Germany and Canada. Sinara has been working in artist-run environments for over 18 years and has many years’ experience in management capacities.

Fallon Simard

Fallon Simard is an Anishinaabe artist and scholar from Couchiching First Nation from the Grand Council of Treaty #3 Territory. Fallon’s work interrogates state violence and mental health in so far as it is perpetuated on to Indigenous bodies, with a practice comprised of video, sound and animation. They hold a Masters of Art from the Interdisciplinary Masters in Art, Media, and Design Program from OCAD University.