imagineNATIVE Film Festival

Awards Show
Awards Show
Hosted by Billy Merasty
Sunday, Oct 23 2011, 9:00PM
The Mod Club Theatre

Join us for the Closing Night Awards Show where winners of the 2011 imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival will be announced! Celebrate this year's incredible talents with our fabulous host, Billy Merasty. Billy has just returned from Creede, Colorado where he worked on a fantastic play called The Bad Man, and is currently in rehearsals for The Rez Sisters, which will open in Toronto in November. Billy has been acting for 29 years in film, television and theatre. His career has taken him across Canada, the USA and to Malta, where he worked on the four-hour TV movie Moby Dick. Some of Billy's favourite credits include his role in Shelly Niro's Honey Moccasin, the title role of Elijah (CTV), the title role of Justice Denied, The Donald Marshall Story (NFB) and We Shall Remain (PBS).

Billy Merasty and special guests will announce winners in the following categories:

Shaw Media Mentorship Program
2011 Mentee Introduction by Karen King,
Production Executive (Mentor).

Drama Pitch Prize
Presented by Aboriginal People's Television Network (APTN)
Supported by William F. White and Technicolor
$5,000 Development Deal with APTN,
$2,000 voucher for services at William F.
White and $500 in services from Technicolor

Documentary Pitch Prize
Presented by CBC News Network
Supported by William F. White and Technicolor
$500 cash prize from CBC News Network,
$2,000 voucher for services at William F. White and $500 in services from Technicolor

Best Music Video
Presented by Slaight Music
$1,000 cash award

Best Experimental
Presented by Images Festival
$1,000 cash award

Best Canadian Short Drama
Presented by Isuma.TV
$1,000 cash award

Best Short Drama
Presented by TVO
$1,000 cash award

Best Short Documentary
Presented by CBC
$1,000 cash award

Best Radio
Presented by Astral
$1,000 cash award

Best New Media
Presented by Vtape
$1,000 cash award

The Cynthia Lickers-Sage Award for Emerging Talent
Presented by Cynthia Lickers-Sage on behalf of Vtape
$1,000 cash award

Best Indigenous Language Production Award
Presented by the Canada Media Fund
$1,000 cash award

The Ellen Monague Award for Best Youth Work
Presented by RBC
$1,000 cash award

Best Dramatic Feature
Presented by Bell Media
$1,500 cash award

The Alanis Obomsawin Best Documentary Award
Presented by Alanis Obomsawin on behalf of the National Film Board of Canada
$1,500 cash award