Award Winners Screening Image.jpg

Awards Presentation

Sunday October 22 | 4:30PM

Cinema 2 TIFF Bell Lightbox

FREE but Ticket Required

Free tickets will be available at the TIFF Bell Lightbox Box Office on the day of the event.

Join Co-Hosts Andre Morriseau (Ojibway) of the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business and Melanie Nepinak Hadley (Ojibway) of the CBC, as we announce the Juries’ picks for this year’s prizes!

Our 18th Annual Awards Presentation is an afternoon to celebrate and recognize Indigenous achievement in film and media arts.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!


Andre Morriseau (Ojibway) is an enthusiastic advocate and ambassador for Aboriginal arts, culture and public affairs. A member of the Fort William First Nation (Thunder Bay) where he maintains a home, Mr. Morriseau is based in Toronto. Over the past 15 years Andre has served on numerous boards of directors including the Ontario Arts Council (OAC), the Native American Journalists Association (NAJA), and is the current Vice-Chair of imagineNATIVE. He works as the Director of Awards and Stakeholder Relations for the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business.



Melanie Nepinak Hadley is Executive in Charge of Production for CBC Drama where she oversees Heartland, Pure, The Secret Path and When Calls the Heart. Prior to her role at CBC, she was the Manager of Programming for Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN). She has over 15 years of experience working in independent production and for national broadcasters. Melanie is on the boards of imagineNATIVE and the National Screen Institute (NSI). 



imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival is proud to announce that Cree actor, humanitarian and activist Tina Keeper will receive the 2017 August Schellenberg Award of Excellence. Read more here.

Prizes will be given in the following categories:

Web Series Pitch Prize
Presented by:

APTN logo

Supported by: William F. White International, Innovate by Day, Technicolor, Toronto International Film Festival, WIFT Toronto
The Kent Monkman Award for Best Experimental Work
Presented by:

iN logo
The Cynthia Lickers-Sage Award for Best Short Work
Presented by:
Vtape logo
Best Documentary Short
Presented by:

CBC Docs logo
Best Audio Work
Presented by:

iN logo
Best Digital Media Work
Presented by:

iN logo
The Jane Glassco Award for Emerging Talent
Presented by:

CJ logo
Best Indigenous Language Production
Presented by:

IMI logo
The Ellen Monague Award for Best Youth Work
Presented by:

iN logo
The Audience Choice Award
Presented by:
AC logo
(Audience Choice Award to be announced post Festival via press release and social media)
The Alanis Obomsawin Award for Best Documentary Work
Presented by:
TVO logo
Best Dramatic Feature
Presented by:

BM logo
The August Schellenberg Award of Excellence
Special thanks to Joan Karasevich and family
Presented by:

ACTRA logo  ACTRA logo

Join us for a FREE screening of a selection of the award-winning films
as part of the: Award Winners Screening

Presented by BMO

Sunday 9:00pm | Oct 22nd, Cinema 3 TIFF Bell Lightbox