Launched last year, the iN Bullsye is an Indigenous music talent search contest seeks to nurture Canada’s newest music talent with unprecedented opportunities, including a $10,000 cash award, to turn their talent into a career.

As part of the initiative, emerging Indigenous musicians from Canada were invited this summer (June 21 – August 15) to submit a sample track of their original work in an online contest for consideration by a jury of music and media arts industry leaders. Selected contest finalists will be promoted through imagineNATIVE’s social networks in the run up to the 18th annual imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival (October 18-22, 2017). The final nominees will be announced on the week of the Festival and the contest winner will be announced and awarded at imagineNATIVE’s annual music showcase, THE BEAT.

Following the announcement, the contest winner will be able to access the $10,000 cash award to create a professionally recorded demo of their track and produce their first music video. This video will be promoted through imagineNATIVE’s networks and the winning artist will have the opportunity to travel on imagineNATIVE’s annual Film + Video Tour to Indigenous communities across Canada in 2018.


Submissions are now closed. Visit for details and submission guidelines. 





Liv Wade was announced as the Winner of the 2017 iN Bullseye Contest at the Beat on Saturday October 21, 2017

Liv has released her EP album Resilience, which features five great tracks that speak of heartbreak, rebuilding, overcoming and returning.

You can stream the album here: 

Follow Liv's Twitter page for the latest updates on her work. 


TOP 10 FinalISTS 2017

Lacey Hill - Ohsweken, ON

Bebe Buckskin & The Dirty North - Calgary, AB

Illustrated - Saskatoon, SK

Celeigh Cardinal - Edmonton, AB

Liv Wade - Salt Spring Island, BC

Leo Vance - Toronto, ON

Cliff Cardinal - Hamilton, ON

Aqua Nibii Waawaaskone - Toronto, ON

Bryden Gwiss Kiwenzie - Sudbury, ON

Cody Coyote - Ottawa, ON


Leo Vance - Toronto, ON

Liv Wade - Salt Spring Island, BC

Illustrated - Saskatoon, SK


2017 Bull's Eye Jury


Wolf Saga 2016 5.jpg

wolf saga

Wolf Saga is an ‪#Aboriginal‬ electro-pop artist, born and raised in London, Ontario. He is reigning at the #1 spot on the Canadian Aboriginal chart for his 2015 EP Auburn Nights since its release. He has an incredible following on Youtube and his Soundcloud account.

julian taylor

Lead singer and songwriter Taylor, is of both West Indian and Native Canadian descent, born and raised in Toronto. His solid and unabashedly positive approach to performances result in a form of modern rhythm and blues infused with rock ‘n’ roll.


Ali Slaight

As Talent Development Coordinator at Slaight Music, Ali Slaight works closely with Canadian musicians and bands in order to develop their careers and help put their music in front of as many new fans as possible. Earning a degree in Professional Music from Berklee College of Music in 2010, Slaight's experience as a Recording Artist give her unique insight when it comes to crafting ideal conditions for maximum creativity.


Anishinaabe singer-songwriter Ansley Simpson was the winner of the inaugural Bull’sEye competition at imagineNATIVE’s 2016 Festival. Simpson teamed up award-winning Métis filmmaker Shane Belcourt to make the first music video to create title track from her debut album “Breakwall”. This striking video braids cinematic images with lush melodies with a swelling love song between opposites that no longer attract yet can’t be separated – a wave and a breakwall.


Last year over 50 exciting new musicians - from electronic dance music artists to folk singer-songwriters submitted their work to iN Bull’s Eye for consideration by a jury composed of Ali Slaight, Wolf Saga and Julian Taylor.

Ansley Simpson was announced and awarded as the inaugural iN Bull's Eye contest winner at imagineNATIVE’s 2016 Festival.

We are proud to debut the music video to the title track from Simpson’s debut album, "Breakwall." Simpson teamed up with award-winning Métis filmmaker Shane Belcourt to create this striking video braiding cinematic images with lush melodies. “Breakwall” is a swelling love song between opposites that no longer attract yet can’t be separated, a wave and a breakwall.


2016 In Bull's Eye winner


2016 Bull's Eye Top 3 Finalists

1. Cody Coyote
2. Stone Mathers
3. Ansley Simpson

2016 Bull's Eye Top 5 Finalists

1. Bebe Buckskin   
2. Cody Coyote
3. Teagan Littlechief
4. Stone Mathers
5. Ansley Simpson

2016 Bull's Eye Top 10 Finalists


1. Bebe Buckskin
2. Celeigh Cardinal
3. Cody Coyote
4. Luke Issac
5. Teagan Littlechief

6. Stone Mathers
7. Giant Rabbits
8. Jordan Reuben
9. Ansley Simpson
10. Xandrah